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STATE OF CALIFORNIA                                                       GAVIN NEWSOM, Governor 

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 
505 VAN NESS AVENUE 

SAN FRANCISCO, CA  94102-3298 

 

Erin Mulberg 

CleanPowerSF 

525 Golden Gate Ave, 7th Fl 

San Francisco, CA 94102 

 

CITATION FOR VIOLATION OF RESOURCE ADEQUACY (RA) REPORTING 

REQUIREMENTS UNDER RESOLUTION E-4195, AS MODIFIED 

 BY DECISION (D.)10-06-036, D.11-06-022, D.14-06-050, AND D.19-06-026 AND 

D.20-06-031 

 

Citation No. E-4195-0118      Issued: May 17, 2022 

 

Re: 2021 Historic Load Data Compliance Filing 

 

Dear Ms. Erin Mulberg: 

 

 Pursuant to Resolution E-4195, subsequently modified by Decisions (D.) 10-06-

036, D.11-06-022, D.14-06-050, D.19-06-026, and D.20-06-031, CleanPowerSF is 

hereby cited for the following specified violation: 

1. Failure to file Historic Load Data at the time and manner 

required. 

 

2. Failure to file a Preliminary Load Forecast at the time and 

manner required. 

 

3. Failure to file a Month-Ahead System Resource Adequacy 

Compliance Filing at the time and manner required.  

 

4. Failure to file a Preliminary Local Resource Adequacy 

Compliance Filing, or a Year-Ahead System Resource 

Adequacy Compliance Filing at the time and manner required. 

 

5. Failure to comply with a request for information from Energy 

Division that is reasonably related to implementation of the 

resource adequacy requirements in the time and manner 

required. 

 

6. Deficiency cured within five business days from the date of 

notification by Energy Division. 

 

7. Deficiency remedied after five business days from the date of 

Energy Division notification or not remedied at all. 
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Evidence of Violation 

A. Summary 

CleanPowerSF (CPSF) failed to file its 2021 Historic Load Data at the time and 

manner required.  On February 8, 2022, the California Public Utilities Commission’s 

(CPUC or Commission) Energy Division (ED) staff provided CPSF a link to the 2021 

Historic Load Data template and provided a deadline of March 14, 2022 to file its 2021 

Historic Load Data with the CPUC and the California Energy Commission (CEC).  On 

March 11, 2022, ED staff emailed CPSF a reminder that the 2021 Historic Load Data 

filing is due on March 14, 2022 and to send the filing to both the CPUC and CEC.  On 

March 15, 2022, ED staff emailed CPSF that it had not received its 2021 Historic Load 

Data filing and requested the filing immediately.  On March 17, 2022, the Commission 

received CPSF’s 2021 Historic Load Data filing.  

On May 9, 2022, Utilities Enforcement Branch (UEB) staff informed CPSF that 

the deadline for the 2021 Historic Load Data filing was March 14, 2022, but the CPUC 

didn’t receive CPSF’s filing until March 17, 2022.  UEB staff also requested that CPSF 

provide a correction if UEB’s understanding is incorrect by May 16, 2022.  On May 10, 

2022, CPSF confirmed that it was unable to meet the March 14, 2022 deadline provided 

by ED and that its 2021 Historic Load Data filing was submitted on March 17, 2022.  

This violation is for failure to file 2021 Historic Load Data at the time and manner 

required.  Scheduled penalties prescribe a $1,000 per incident plus $500 per day for the 

first ten days the filing was late and $1,000 for each day thereafter for failure to file 

Historic Load Data at the time and manner required.1  The CPUC received CPSF’s 2021 

Historic Load Data filing on March 17, 2022, three days after the March 14, 2022 filing 

deadline.  Accordingly, CPSF is being cited $2,500.00 ($1,000 + (3 days X $500/day)) 

for filing its 2021 Historic Load Data three days late. 

 

B. CPSF’s Failure to File its 2021 Historic Load Data Timely 

On March 15, 2022, ED staff informed CPSF the CPUC has not received its 2021 

Historic Load Data filing due March 14, 2022 and requested that it be submitted as soon 

as possible.  On May 9, 2022, UEB staff informed CPSF that the deadline for the 2021 

 
1 Resolution E-4195, Ordering Paragraph 2, Appendix A, pp. 6, 13. 
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Historic Load Data filing was March 14, 2022, but the CPUC didn’t receive CPSF’s 

filing until March 17, 2022.  UEB staff also requested that CPSF provide a correction if 

UEB’s understanding is incorrect by May 16, 2022.  On May 10, 2022, CPSF confirmed 

that it was unable to meet the March 14, 2022 deadline provided by ED and that its 2021 

Historic Load Data filing was submitted on March 17, 2022.  

 

C. Scheduled Penalty for CPSF’s Failure to File its 2021 Historic Load Data 

Timely 

Resolution E-4195, as modified by Decision (D.)10-06-036, D.11-06-022, D.14-

06-050, D.19-06-026, and D.20-06-031, specifies that the penalty for failure to file 

Historic Load Data at the time and manner required is $1,000 per incident plus $500 per 

day for the first ten days the filing was late and $1,000 for each day thereafter.2  The 

CPUC received CPSF’s 2021 Historic Load Data filing on March 17, 2022, three days 

after the March 14, 2022 filing deadline.   Accordingly, CPSF is being cited $2,500.00 

($1,000 per incident + (3 days X $500/day)) for filing its Historic Load Data three days 

late. 

     

 

You are hereby called upon to answer this citation within 30 days from the date of 

the citation by completing the attached form.  By way of such answer you may either: 

 (1)  Comply with this Citation and pay the fine, by check or money order, payable 

to the California Public Utilities Commission, in the amount of $2,500.00 pursuant to the 

Specified Violations and Scheduled Penalties (Resolution E-4195, subsequently modified 

by D.10-06-036, D.11-06-022, D.14-06-050, D.19-06-026, and D.20-06-031).  This will 

be deemed a waiver of your rights to a hearing and to a formal disposition by the 

Commission. 

OR 

(2)  Appeal this citation.  In such event, you must file a Notice of Appeal with the 

Commission’s Docket Office within 30 days of the date of this citation, in addition to the 

appeals procedures outlined below.   

 
2 Resolution E-4195, OP 2, Appendix A, pp. 6, 13. 
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 The Notice of Appeal must be concurrently served on the delegate of Consumer 

Protection and Enforcement Division’s (CPED) Director at the following address:   

 

CALIFORNIA PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

Consumer Protection and Enforcement Division 

ATTN:  Jeanette Lo, Utility Enforcement Branch Chief 

505 Van Ness Avenue, Room 2004 

San Francisco, CA 94102 

 

The Notice of Appeal must also be served on the Chief Administrative Law Judge 

(with an electronic copy to:  ALJ_Div_Appeals_Coordinator@cpuc.ca.gov).  No later 

than 14 calendar days after the Notice of Appeal is filed, Staff issuing the citation will 

file a Compliance Filing with the Commission’s Docket Office which includes a 

complete copy of the citation and all attachments.  Appeals will be heard in the 

Commission’s San Francisco courtrooms on regularly scheduled days.  You may order a 

transcript of the hearing and must pay the cost of the transcript in accordance with the 

Commission’s specified procedures.  An attorney or other representative may represent 

you at the hearing, but any such representation will be at your expense. 

If you fail to notify CPED of acceptance of the Scheduled Penalty and pay the full 

amount within 30 days or file a Notice of Appeal within 30 days, you will be in default.  

Upon default, CPED may take any action provided by law to recover unpaid penalties 

and ensure compliance with applicable statutes and Commission orders, decisions, rules, 

directions, demands, or requirements.  Any unpaid balance of a Scheduled Penalty shall 

accrue interest at the legal rate of interest for judgments.  

 

 

 
_______________________ 

         

Jeanette Lo 

Utility Enforcement Branch Chief 

Consumer Protection and Enforcement Division

mailto:ALJ_Div_Appeals_Coordinator@cpuc.ca.gov


  

5 
 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA                                   GAVIN NEWSOM, Governor 

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

505 VAN NESS AVENUE 

SAN FRANCISCO, CA  94102-3298 

 

 
 I hereby state that I will comply with Citation No. E-4195-0118, dated May 17, 2022, and 

herewith pay a fine in the amount of $2,500.00. 

• Please make check payable to the California Public Utilities Commission and 

send, along with a copy of this form, to: 

CALIFORNIA PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

Fiscal Office 

505 Van Ness Ave., Room 3000 

San Francisco, CA 94102 

 

• Please PDF a copy of this form to Donovan Tan at [donovan.tan@cpuc.ca.gov]. 

• You may direct all questions regarding this citation to Donovan Tan at [213-999-

8478] or [donovan.tan@cpuc.ca.gov]. 

 

I hereby acknowledge that if I do not appeal the citation, and do not pay the full amount 

within 30 days, any unpaid balance shall accrue interest at the legal rate of interest for 

judgments, and Commission Staff and the Commission may take action provided by law to 

recover unpaid penalties and ensure compliance with applicable statutes and Commission 

orders, decisions, rules, directions, demands or requirements.  

 

 I hereby appeal Citation No. E-4195-0118, dated May 17, 2022.   

• To appeal this citation, follow the directions described in this citation, and 

described in detail in Appendix A of Resolution ALJ-377 (both attached herein). 

• Please PDF a copy of this form to Donovan Tan at [donovan.tan@cpuc.ca.gov]. 

 

Signature:  _____________________________________ 

Name and Title:  ________________________________ 

Name of Company:  _____________________________ 

Citation No.: E-4195-0118          

Date:  _________________________________________ 
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EXPLANATION OF HOW TO APPEAL A CITATION 

 

You (Respondent) may appeal the citation pursuant to the following process: 

 

Appeal of Citation.  In lieu of accepting the Scheduled Penalty, a Respondent may 

appeal the citation and request a hearing.  In the event of an appeal, any remedy available 

may be imposed, and the remedy shall not be mandated by or limited to the Scheduled 

Penalty.   

 

Notice of Appeal.  To appeal a citation, the Respondent must file a written Notice of 

Appeal with the Commission’s Docket Office.  The Notice of Appeal must state the 

grounds for appeal, the date of the citation, and must be served on both the Chief 

Administrative Law Judge (with an electric copy to:  

ALJ_Div_Appeals_Coordinator@cpuc.ca.gov), and the Director of CPED, within thirty 

(30) days of the date of the citation.  The appellant must file a proof of service at the 

same time appellant files the Notice of Appeal.  The title page of the appeal must comply 

with Rule 1.6 of the Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure.  The caption of the 

appeal shall read: “Appeal of [party name] from [Citation ####] issued by [Commission 

Division which issued the citation].” 

 

Compliance Filing.  No later than 14 calendar days after the notice of appeal is filed, 

Commission staff must file with the Commission’s Docket Office a compliance filing 

which includes the complete citation, including all attachments, and simultaneously serve 

the Chief Judge (with an electronic copy to:  

ALJ_Div_Appeals_Coordinator@cpuc.ca.gov).  Staff must also provide a proof of 

service when filing the compliance filing.   

 

Service of Rules and Resolution.  Staff shall provide a copy of Resolution ALJ-377 and 

the Rules adopted pursuant to that Resolution (Appendix A), with all citations issued. 

 

Time of Hearing.  No less than ten (10) days after the Notice of Appeal is filed, the 

assigned Administrative Law Judge shall set the matter for hearing promptly.  The 

Administrative Law Judge, may, for good cause shown or upon agreement of the parties, 

grant a reasonable continuance of the hearing.   

 

Location of Hearing.  Appeals of citations shall be heard in the Commission’s San 

Francisco courtroom on regularly scheduled days.   

 

Exchange of Information.  In order to expedite citation appeals and to eliminate 

potential delay, no later than three business days prior to the schedule hearing, the parties 

must exchange all information they intend to introduce into the record at the hearing 

which is not included in the citation and Compliance Filing already filed with the 

Commission, unless otherwise directed by the Judge.   

 

Transcripts.  The Respondent may order a transcript of the hearing and shall pay the cost 

of the transcript in accordance with the Commission’s specified procedures.   

mailto:ALJ_Div_Appeals_Coordinator@cpuc.ca.gov
mailto:ALJ_Div_Appeals_Coordinator@cpuc.ca.gov
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Representation at Hearing.  The Respondent may be represented at the hearing by an 

attorney or other representative, but any such representation shall be at the Respondent’s 

expense.   

 

Evidentiary Hearing.  At an evidentiary hearing, CPED bears the burden of proof and, 

accordingly, shall open and close.  The Administrative Law Judge may, in his or her 

discretion to better ascertain the truth, alter the order of presentation.  Rule 13.6 of the 

Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure provides the rules of evidence. 

 

Interpreter.  Upon a good faith showing of language difficulty and written request to the 

assigned Judge and Commission’s Public Advisor’s Office not less than five business 

days prior to date of hearing. 

 

Submission.  Ordinarily, the matter shall be submitted at the close of the hearing.  The 

Administrative Law Judge, upon a showing of good cause, may keep the record open for 

a reasonable period to permit a party to submit additional evidence or argument.   

 

Decision.  The Administrative Law Judge will issue a draft resolution resolving the 

Citation Appeal expeditiously and no later than 60 days after the Citation Appeal is 

submitted. The draft resolution will be placed on the first available agenda consistent 

with the Commission’s applicable rules. 

 

Communications.  From the date that a citation is issued to and including the date when 

the final order is issued, neither the Respondent nor CPED, or any agent or other person 

on behalf of the Respondent or CPED, may communicate regarding the appeal, orally or 

in writing, with a Commissioner, Commissioner’s advisor, or Administrative Law Judge, 

except as expressly permitted under these procedures.   

 

Rehearing.  A resolution resolving a Citation Appeal approved by the Commission is 

subject to rehearing pursuant to Pub. Util. Code § 1731 and to judicial review pursuant to 

Pub. Util. Code § 1756. 
 


