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  STATE OF CALIFORNIA                                                       EDMUND G. BROWN JR., Governor 

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 
505 VAN NESS AVENUE 

SAN FRANCISCO, CA  94102-3298 

 

 

 

Jenine Windeshausen 

Executive Director            

Pioneer Community Energy 

651 Commerce Drive 

Roseville, CA 95678 

 

CITATION FOR VIOLATION OF RESOURCE ADEQUACY (RA) REPORTING 

REQUIREMENTS UNDER RESOLUTION E-4195, AS MODIFIED 

 BY DECISIONS 10-06-036 and 11-06-022 

 

Citation No. E-4195-48         Issued: August 15, 2018     

 

Re: August 2018 Month-Ahead RA Compliance Filing 

 

Dear Ms. Windeshausen: 

 

 Pursuant to Resolution E-4195, subsequently modified by Decisions 10-06-036 and 

11-06-022, Pioneer Community Energy is hereby cited for the following specified violation: 

 

1. Failure to file Historic Load Data at the time and manner 

required. 

 

2. Failure to file a Preliminary Load Forecast at the time and 

manner required. 

 

3. Failure to file a Month-Ahead System Resource Adequacy 

Compliance Filing at the time and manner required.  

 

4. Failure to file a Preliminary Local Resource Adequacy 

Compliance Filing, or a Year-Ahead System Resource 

Adequacy Compliance Filing at the time and manner 

required. 

 

5. Failure to comply with a request for information from Energy 

Division that is reasonably related to implementation of the 

resource adequacy requirements in the time and manner 

required. 

 

6. Deficiency cured within five business days from the date of 

notification by Energy Division. 

 

7. Deficiency remedied after five business days from the date of 

Energy Division notification or not remedied at all. 
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Evidence of Violation 

A. Summary 

On June 16, 2018, Pioneer Community Energy (Pioneer) filed its Month-Ahead 

(“MA”) Resource Adequacy ("RA") obligation for August 2018.  Pioneer failed to meet its 

Month-Ahead obligation of 237.00 MW total requirements for that month.  After receiving a 

deficiency notice of 168.00 MW from Energy Division (“ED”), Pioneer was unable to cure its 

deficiency.  This violation is for failing to procure enough system capacity to meet its RA 

obligation.  The scheduled penalty is $6.66/kW-month for a System RA deficiency for failing 

to fully remedy the deficiency after five business days from the date of notification by Energy 

Division.  Accordingly, Pioneer is being cited $1,118,880.00 for its violation. 

 B. Pioneer’s August 2018 MA RA Deficiency 

 On June 22, 2018, ED emailed Pioneer a deficiency notice, indicating that Pioneer was 

deficient with their August 2018 MA RA obligation.  Pioneer had an August MA system RA 

requirement of 237.00 MWs.  California Independent System Operator (CAISO)’s T-45 

supply plans confirmed Pioneer for 69.00 MWs of physical resource RA capacity.  Pioneer 

was 168.00 MW (237.00 minus 69) deficient in meeting its total system RA requirement. The 

deficiency notice was for Pioneer to procure the 168.00 MWs of system capacity and file with 

the California Public Utilities Commission by June 29, 2018. 

 C. Scheduled Penalty for Pioneer’s Deficiency 

 Resolution E-4195, as modified by Decisions 10-06-036 and 11-06-022, specifies that 

the penalty for a System RA deficiency remedied after five business days from the date of ED 

notification or not remedied at all is $6.66/kW-month.  Pioneer failed to remedy a deficiency 

of 168 MWs after five business days from the date of ED’s deficiency notice.  The fine for 

this violation is $1,118,880.00. (168 MW x ($6.66/kW-month) x 1000 kW/MW).     

You are hereby called upon to answer this citation within 30 days from the date of the 

citation by completing the attached form.  By way of such answer you may either: 

 (1)  Comply with this Citation and pay the fine, by check or money order, payable to 

the California Public Utilities Commission, in the amount of $1,118,880.00 pursuant to the 

Specified Penalty (D.11-06-022, Ordering Paragraph No. 5).  This will be deemed a waiver of 

your rights to a hearing and to a formal disposition by the Commission.  

OR 
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(2)  Appeal this citation.  In such event, you must file a Notice of Appeal with the 

Commission’s Docket Office within 30 days of the date of this citation, in addition to the appeals 

procedures outlined below.   

 The Notice of Appeal must be concurrently served on the delegate of Consumer 

Protection and Enforcement Division’s (CPED’s) Director at the following address:   

 

CALIFORNIA PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

Consumer Protection and Enforcement Division 

ATTN:  Jeanette Lo, Utility Enforcement Branch Chief 

505 Van Ness Avenue, Room 2205 

San Francisco, CA 94102 

 

The Notice of Appeal must also be served on the Chief Administrative Law Judge 

(with an electronic copy to:  ALJ_Div_Appeals_Coordinator@cpuc.ca.gov).  No later than 

seven business days after the Notice of Appeal is filed, Staff issuing the citation will file a 

Compliance Filing with the Commission’s Docket Office which includes a complete copy of the 

citation and all attachments.  Appeals will be heard in the Commission’s San Francisco 

courtrooms on regularly scheduled days.  You may order a transcript of the hearing and must 

pay the cost of the transcript in accordance with the Commission’s specified procedures.  An 

attorney or other representative may represent you at the hearing, but any such representation 

will be at your expense. 

mailto:ALJ_Div_Appeals_Coordinator@cpuc.ca.gov
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If you fail to notify CPED of acceptance of the Scheduled Penalty and pay the full 

amount within 30 days or file a Notice of Appeal within 30 days, you will be in default.  Upon 

default, CPED may take any action provided by law to recover unpaid penalties and ensure 

compliance with applicable statutes and Commission orders, decisions, rules, directions, 

demands, or requirements.  Any unpaid balance of a Scheduled Penalty shall accrue interest at 

the legal rate of interest for judgments.  

 

 

 

                / signed / 

_______________________ 

         

Jeanette Lo, Utility Enforcement Branch Chief 

Consumer Protection and Enforcement Division
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA                                   EDMUND G. BROWN JR., Governor 

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

505 VAN NESS AVENUE 

SAN FRANCISCO, CA  94102-3298 

 

 
 I hereby state that I will comply with Citation No. E-4195-48, dated August 15, 2018, and 

herewith pay a fine in the amount of $1,118,880.00.   

• Please make check payable to the California Public Utilities Commission and send, 

along with a copy of this form, to: 

CALIFORNIA PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

Fiscal Office 

505 Van Ness Ave., Room 3000 

San Francisco, CA 94102 

 

• Please PDF a copy of this form to Gaylee Adell-Clarke at [Gaylee.adell-

clarke@cpuc.ca.gov]. 

• You may direct all questions regarding this citation to Gaylee Adell-Clarke at [916-

928-2513] or [Gaylee.adell-clarke@cpuc.ca.gov]. 

 

I hereby acknowledge that if I do not appeal the citation, and do not pay the full amount within 

30 days, any unpaid balance shall accrue interest at the legal rate of interest for judgments, and 

Commission Staff and the Commission may take action provided by law to recover unpaid 

penalties and ensure compliance with applicable statutes and Commission orders, decisions, 

rules, directions, demands or requirements.  

 

 I hereby appeal Citation No. E-4195-48, dated August 15, 2018.   

• To appeal this citation, follow the directions described in this citation, and described 

in detail in Appendix A of Resolution ALJ-299 (both attached herein). 

• Please PDF a copy of this form to Gaylee Adell-Clarke at [Gaylee.adell-

clarke@cpuc.ca.gov]. 

  

Signature:  _____________________________________ 

Name and Title:  ________________________________ 

Name of Company:  _____________________________ 

Citation No.: E-4195-48          

Date:  _________________________________________ 
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EXPLANATION OF HOW TO APPEAL A CITATION 

 

You (Respondent) may appeal the citation pursuant to the following process: 

 

Appeal of Citation.  In lieu of accepting the Scheduled Penalty, a Respondent may 

appeal the citation and request a hearing.  In the event of an appeal, any remedy available 

may be imposed, and the remedy shall not be mandated by or limited to the Scheduled 

Penalty.   

 

Notice of Appeal.  To appeal a citation, the Respondent must file a written Notice of 

Appeal with the Commission’s Docket Office.  The Notice of Appeal must state the 

grounds for appeal, the date of the citation, and must be served on both the Chief 

Administrative Law Judge (with an electric copy to:  

ALJ_Div_Appeals_Coordinator@cpuc.ca.gov), and the Director of CPED, within thirty 

(30) days of the date of the citation.  The appellant must file a proof of service at the 

same time appellant files the Notice of Appeal.  The title page of the appeal must comply 

with Rule 1.6 of the Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure.  The caption of the 

appeal shall read: “Appeal of [party name] from [Citation ####] issued by [Commission 

Division which issued the citation].” 

 

Compliance Filing.  No later than seven business days after the notice of appeal is filed, 

Commission staff must file with the Commission’s Docket Office a compliance filing 

which includes the complete citation, including all attachments, and simultaneously serve 

the Chief Judge (with an electronic copy to:  

ALJ_Div_Appeals_Coordinator@cpuc.ca.gov).  Staff must also provide a proof of 

service when filing the compliance filing.   

 

Service of Rules and Resolution.  Staff shall provide a copy of Resolution ALJ-299 and 

the Rules adopted pursuant to that Resolution (Appendix A), with all citations issued. 

 

Time of Hearing.  No less than ten (10) days after the Notice of Appeal is filed, the 

assigned Administrative Law Judge shall set the matter for hearing promptly.  The 

Administrative Law Judge, may, for good cause shown or upon agreement of the parties, 

grant a reasonable continuance of the hearing.   

 

Location of Hearing.  Appeals of citations shall be heard in the Commission’s San 

Francisco courtroom on regularly scheduled days.   

 

Exchange of Information.  In order to expedite citation appeals and to eliminate 

potential delay, no later than three business days prior to the schedule hearing, the parties 

must exchange all information they intend to introduce into the record at the hearing 

which is not included in the citation and Compliance Filing already filed with the 

Commission, unless otherwise directed by the Judge.   

 

Transcripts.  The Respondent may order a transcript of the hearing and shall pay the cost 

of the transcript in accordance with the Commission’s specified procedures.   

mailto:ALJ_Div_Appeals_Coordinator@cpuc.ca.gov
mailto:ALJ_Div_Appeals_Coordinator@cpuc.ca.gov
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Representation at Hearing.  The Respondent may be represented at the hearing by an 

attorney or other representative, but any such representation shall be at the Respondent’s 

expense.   

 

Evidentiary Hearing.  At an evidentiary hearing, CPED bears the burden of proof and, 

accordingly, shall open and close.  The Administrative Law Judge may, in his or her 

discretion to better ascertain the truth, alter the order of presentation.  Rule 13.6 of the 

Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure provides the rules of evidence. 

 

Interpreter.  Upon a good faith showing of language difficulty and written request to the 

assigned Judge and Commission’s Public Advisor’s Office not less than five business 

days prior to date of hearing. 

 

Submission.  Ordinarily, the matter shall be submitted at the close of the hearing.  The 

Administrative Law Judge, upon a showing of good cause, may keep the record open for 

a reasonable period to permit a party to submit additional evidence or argument.   

 

Decision.  The Administrative Law Judge will issue a draft resolution resolving the 

Citation Appeal expeditiously and no later than 60 days after the Citation Appeal is 

submitted. The draft resolution will be placed on the first available agenda consistent 

with the Commission’s applicable rules. 

 

Communications.  From the date that a citation is issued to and including the date when 

the final order is issued, neither the Respondent nor CPED, or any agent or other person 

on behalf of the Respondent or CPED, may communicate regarding the appeal, orally or 

in writing, with a Commissioner, Commissioner’s advisor, or Administrative Law Judge, 

except as expressly permitted under these procedures.   

 

Rehearing.  A resolution resolving a Citation Appeal approved by the Commission is 

subject to rehearing pursuant to Pub. Util. Code § 1731 and to judicial review pursuant to 

Pub. Util. Code § 1756. 


