• Transportation Licensing

    The CPUC administers safety oversight and enforcement of moving companies and passenger carriers (limousines, shuttles, etc.).

  •    ALERT!

    Alert on Scams

    The CPUC is aware that active carriers and new applicants for a permit or certificate from the CPUC are being contacted by unknown people outside the CPUC.  The call looks like it is coming from a CPUC phone number and the caller claims to be a CPUC employee.  The caller states that additional money ($100-$2,000) must be paid by wire transfer, over the phone with a credit or debit card, or with iTunes gift cards, or the application (or current permit or certificate) will be suspended or denied.  This is a scam!  The CPUC does not place telephone calls to solicit extra funds to complete new applications or renewals, or to demand additional quarterly or annual fees.  If you get a phone call from someone claiming to be from the CPUC, do not, under any circumstances, provide any information over the phone to the caller.  You may contact the CPUC License Section at licensing@cpuc.ca.gov to verify the legitimate issue outstanding.  You may also report the call, any information provided by the caller, and your observations to law enforcement.  For more information, refer to the “Telephone Scam Alert Notification” post.

    Effective Immediately on Carrier Equipment Listing with the Commission

    Individuals and one-owner LLC’s and Corporations without employees will be permitted to have and maintain two (2) vehicles.  The term “employee” is defined here as a non-manager-member (LLC) and non-officer (Corp).  Requests to add more than two (2) vehicles must include a reason justifying the additional vehicle, and may result in the CPUC requiring the filing of an active workers’ compensation insurance policy. 

    New Requirements Regarding Workers’ Compensation Insurance under AB 2883

    New requirements regarding workers’ compensation insurance under AB 2883, effective January 1, 2017, will affect corporations, LLCs, and general partnerships in regards of excluding workers’ compensation coverage.  Review our AB2883 letter regarding the new requirements to ensure you are compliant to the new rules.

  • Passenger Carriers

    Passenger carriers (limousines, airport shuttles, charter and scheduled bus operators, and others) obtain permits or certificates after providing financial responsibility and safety information to the PUC, including evidence of liability insurance and a California Highway Patrol safety inspection.

    Moving Companies

    Household goods moving companies obtain permits from the PUC after showing financial and safety fitness. They must also prove to the PUC that they have adequate insurance and they are subject to criminal background clearance by the California Department of Justice and Federal Bureau of Investigation.

    Transportation Network Companies

    Transportation Network Companies (TNCs) provide prearranged transportation services for compensation using an online-enabled application or platform (such as smart phone apps) to connect drivers using their personal vehicles with passengers.

    Transportation Enforcement

    The CPUC takes enforcement action against moving companies and passenger carriers. Information on cases and Current Investigations can be found online.