UPDATED Forms and Guide are effective April 4, 2017
The Intervenor Compensation Program Guide and Forms have been revised to incorporate changes resulting from the enactment of Senate Bill 512. Effective April 4, 2017, Intervenors must submit notices of intent to claim compensation and requests for compensation awards on the updated forms.
The Intervenor Compensation Program
The California Public Utilities Commission (Commission) is responsible for assuring that California utility customers have safe, reliable utility service at reasonable rates, for protecting utility customers from fraud, and for promoting the health of California’s economy. As a public agency, the Commission depends on input, questions, and feedback from the general public. By hearing from different perspectives, the Commission is better able to make informed decisions that consider the impact of utility costs and services on all Californians. The California Public Utilities Code allows qualified parties in proceedings before the Commission to request compensation for their participation (allowable fees and costs). The Intervenor Compensation Program is intended to ensure that individuals and groups that represent residential or small commercial electric utility customers have the financial resources to bring their concerns and interests to the Commission during formal proceedings. Please refer to the Intervenor Compensation Program Guide for specific inquiries on how to participate in the program.
Intervenor Compensation Program Guide
Forms to Formally File
REMINDER: In order to timely process your NOTICE OF INTENT and/or CLAIM please send a WORD version to firstname.lastname@example.org as soon as you file and serve your documents.
Notice of Intent
- Notice of Intent (NOI) must be filed and served within 30 days after the Prehearing Conference is held; OR in cases when no Prehearing Conference is scheduled, at the date determined by the presiding Administrative Law Judge.
Intervenor Compensation Claim
- Intervenor Compensation Claim must be filed within 60 days after a decision closing a proceeding is issued, except in limited circumstances.
- An excel timesheet, documenting all claimed hours must be filed with an Intervenor Compensation Claim in order to be considered complete.
REMINDER: In order to timely process your NOI and/or CLAIM please send a WORD version to email@example.com as soon as you file and serve your documents.
Check the Status of your Claim HERE
Archived Status Reports
California State Audit Report
Intervenor Hourly Rate Information
Hourly Rate Table
- The Intervenor Compensation Program adopts an annual resolution which establishes cost-of-living adjustments (COLAs) to update hourly rates in compensation awards.
Decisions Addressing Rate Setting Guidelines
Decisions Addressing Intervenor Compensation Program History
- Amendments to the Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure
- Important guidelines for Intervenors seeking compensation
Intervenor Compensation Program
505 Van Ness Avenue, 5th Floor/ALJ Division
San Francisco, California 94102
Public Advisor’s Office
505 Van Ness Avenue, Room 2103
San Francisco, California 94102
Fax: (415) 703-2411
Ph: (866) 849-8390